Don’t Hide Your Flaws

“Once you’ve accepted your flaws, no-one can use them against you.”
– Tyrion Lannister (Game of Thrones)

As I am currently less than a week away from being a graduate, the one thing (other than my final exam) that is always on my mind is whats next for me? Ever since the Easter holidays I’ve been investing a lot of time in finishing off my CV, perfecting my cover letter and essentially kindly-harassing various advertising agencies to meet with me. It hasn’t been easy but thankfully I have had some brilliant opportunities to meet with people in the industry, and hopefully I’ve made good enough impressions to make them consider me a possibility to join their team. These meetings have varied from casual chats over coffee or interviews in agency boardrooms, and the questions posed to me have been surprisingly different across the board. However the one question that never came up yet everyone tells you to prepare for is “What’s your greatest flaw?” or something along those lines, and to be honest no matter how much I think about my answer to this question I’ve always found it incredibly difficult to pin it down. It’s not that I think I’m perfect, it’s that I am not afraid to admit I have many flaws so narrowing it down to just one seems impossible.

giphy.gif

I know have flaws, I’ll never deny them because I am the type of person that believes that flaws are simply just another trait of your uniqueness. They may paint an ugly picture of you in certain people’s minds, but as my mom always says “water finds it own level” so you just have to be patient and wait for those people to come along that don’t see your flaws as ugly and just see them as another thing that makes you, well you. So I’ve decided to write a complete transparent post about what I think my top five flaws are. I may be wrong, they may not be flaws at all, but they are areas of my personality that always seems to get me into trouble.

What is Patience?

If there’s anything that runs in our family, other than red hair, it’s 100% our inability to have patience. I’m the type of person that when I want something, it doesn’t take me long to try get it or when I need something done, I’ll refuse to let anyone else do it because I know I’ll get it done much faster. I can’t deny that it’s been a great trait to have in college because if I was given an important task I would almost always meet the deadline a little earlier than usual. On the other hand it’s also a nightmare because I expect everyone to be the same and have probably the shortest fuse in the world because of it so during group work, I wasn’t always the easiest if you didn’t know how I ticked. So if you’re walking incredibly slow in-front of me when I’m in a rush, don’t take it personally if I mumble angrily at you.

Last Minuteness

I was never really bad at leaving things to the last minute…until college came around. In first year I usually completed things a few weeks before the deadline, but fast forward to final year and you’ll see almost every assignment completed was an all-nighter job the night before it was due. I always still did them to the highest standard of mine that was possible, but it always ended up stressing me out a hell of a lot more than it ever should’ve. I’m the exact same when it comes to Birthdays or Christmas, I’m that girl that runs around the store mainly searching for the perfect present, when I could’ve bought it online a good two weeks beforehand, but hey I’m still good at presents eh?

Emotional Wreck

I am that girl that cries at the ending of every Nicholas Sparks film, I’ve never read through John Greens ‘Looking for Alaska’ without tearing up and I will be that person that cries with you when consoling you rather than just patting your back coldly for the sake of it. I both hate and adore this trait because even though it ensures that if I’m doing a task I enjoy I will pour my whole heart into it and make sure it’s done to the highest of highest standards. At the same though it can be a pain in the ass, especially in relationships that are both romantic and friendly. I can always take criticism when it’s genuine, but if it’s just bullshit I will take it so personally it’s unbearable. If you give me the silent treatment, I will always think it’s my fault and blame myself harshly for it. I will also cry without realising, even if you said something stupidly I still can’t control my Niagara eye-Falls. Lets just say, if you want someone to cry on queue, just tell me I look ugly and you’ll have an ocean of tears on your hand, but nothing a good chat, hug and smile can’t fix.

Judge Judy

I blame this trait on the Fashion industry and Blair Waldorf. I know that I can be an absolute bitch when it comes to my opinions, as I’m almost never afraid to voice them and when it comes to clothes, I will always find something to comment on. Not saying I’ll always find something wrong with them, but I will always pass a remark whether it’s a compliment or not. I’d like to say it’s a trait I hate, but then I’d be lying. I love that I’ve grown such a thick skin over the years that has allowed me to have confidence in my voice and my opinions. It has also allowed me to find who my true friends are because there the ones who will always give me an honest opinion, who will always accept my opinion whether it’s good or bad, and they’ll also always be the one to pass a comment on an outfit alongside me, so what more could you ask for? I know everyone says “don’t judge a book by it’s cover” but I can’t help it, however nothing is stopping anyone from proving that first impression wrong because even though I’m judgemental, I’m not close minded enough to give someone a second chance.

Great Grudges

I know I said in the previous paragraph that I’m always open to give someone a second chance, but at the same time if you get on the wrong side of me, I’ll never forget it. There have been girls that I’ve met over the years that I’ve rubbed up the wrong way, but I still quite like them and I wouldn’t miss an opportunity to chat with them in the street. However there are a few girls that once made me feel so crappy, that the strong-disliking for them has never left the back my mind. There’s actually four in particular that I can think of right now that have said things like “you should dye your hair” or “you’re not welcome in this group if you’re friends with her” or simply just genuine backhanded comments in my direction. I’ll forgive them one day, but I don’t think I have it in me to choose to stop and chat with them when I know for a fact that I’ll leave the conversation fuming with anger irregardless of what they say. Yes it’s an awful trait, but it isn’t something I feel with everyone and to be honest, I always believe in Karma and for those four people that come to my mind, Karma has already hit them in my eyes. I’m sorry, but you’ve stepped on my toes more than once so it’ll take a hell of a lot for my opinion of you to change.

Unknown.jpg

I know some of you may think that these five flaws aren’t a big deal, but to me they are. I’m not afraid to admit them and to be honest, I’d love to be able to change them but for now, they’re little traits that make me who I am and that add to the person I’m pushing myself to be. Just embrace your little flaws, because if you hide them you’re hiding your true self.

Ever-so Stylishly Yours,

   Hannah .x.

Leave a Reply

