10 Things You May Not Know About Me

“I am me. I am not willing to change for you, or anyone else.
Take me as I am, or watch me as I go.”
– Unknown

With my final assignments coming to a stressful close and my final (hopefully final ever) exams are just around the corner, my brain hasn’t exactly been the best at coming up with creative ideas, so this weeks post has actually been borrowed off one of my favourite bloggers of the moment Rebecca O’ Byrne, or more commonly known as “Haute So Fabulous“. I was recently told, only just a few nights ago, that the image that they had created of me in their head wasn’t the person that was standing in front of them, and even though it made me smile it also made me wonder, do I really come across as a bland person through first impressions? So I’ve decided to do a post of ten random facts that you probably don’t know about about me, and if you think you know me the best do then maybe you might want to skip reading the rest of this post!

68747470733a2f2f73332e616d617a6f6e6177732e636f6d2f776174747061642d6d656469612d736572766963652f53746f7279496d6167652f6a5f4a5467795941415054656e513d3d2d3334353633313132382e313439303335656634383034366464363439323733303737323030342e676966.gif

I’m fascinated by Doll Houses.

If there is a one fully laid out in a store window, you would genuinely have to drag me away from it. Not in a creepy way, just that I love the “miniatureness” with all the little intricate details and the idea that you can create your dream home on such a small scale. I never had one as a child, but when I was fifteen (yes I know, fifteen is a little old) I got a dollhouse for Christmas and I still adore it. Even though it’s not an elaborate Georgian dollhouse and that I don’t sit down and play with as much as I once did, I still just love it and hopefully will one day get the chance to pass it down to a niece or nephew of mine.

 I have OCD tendencies.

I hate when my top drawer has a skirt thrown in, I hate when the clothing to the front of my wardrobe is for the wrong season, I always have my CD’s in alphabetical order and I actually get chills when my book shelf is not in order of height. I know these are little things , but it’s the minor things that get my under my skin and frustrate me if they’re not organised correctly. I guess I’m simply just a “Organiser Nazi” rather than a “Grammar Nazi”.

I’m a complete & utter Celebrity nerd.

Name a film, and there’s a high chance I can name three actors from it. I never thought anything of it until one lunch time during my work placement when some of my colleagues were discussing movies, and anytime they struggled to name the actor from it, I instantly helped them out by naming them. Three movies in and they were stunned of my celebrity knowledge. I’d like to think it’ll one day come in handy, but right now it’s not of much use to me with my upcoming exams in modules like Corporate Strategy.

I once considered becoming the next Penelope Garcia.

I went through various different career mindsets when I was researching in fifth year on what to put down on my CAO, and other than Primary Teaching I was genuinely looking into Forensic Computing because I was always fascinated watching how Penelope Garcia worked in Criminal Minds. As my sister is in Forensics herself, she put me in touch with the head of their computer team and thankfully he was as lovely and as honest as you could get, and ensured that Forensic Computing isn’t just about digging through the black hole of the internet to find the killers. However that still doesn’t stop me from loving Baby Doll.

I spent a year writing One Direction fanficton.

Yep, you read that right. I entered a story into a competition on a popular Tumblr site ‘OneDirection-Dreaming‘ where hundreds of girls applied, to become the next author on the site. I was one of the top two that were chosen and ended up spending a little over a year writing hundreds of romantic stories that allowed fans to escape and enter a world where being in a relationship with Louis Tomlinson was possible. I had one story that was read by over 1,000 people and as cringey as it was, I’m still pretty damn proud of it.

I hate the weirdest things.

Just to mention a few, so you get the idea of how weird I really mean…
I cannot handle the sound of people eating, especially they’re eating boiled eggs or chewing gum with their mouth even slightly open. I get crazily uncomfortable when anyone talks about belly buttons or even attempts to poke me in that area, so much so that I can’t even bring myself to wear bikini bottoms that aren’t high-waisted. Last, but not far from least, I have an incredible pet hate for naturally long nails, that I actually can feel myself almost vomiting at the thought of them.

I’m a big believer in Astrology. 

I am that girl that always read her horoscopes in the back of Kiss magazine, and to this day still reads the monthly horoscope on Elle because anytime I’ve ever read it, it has pretty much always become reality. If I have an interview coming up, I’ll be curious to see what my horoscope says about my career path, or if I’ve met a new guy, I’ll be eager to read everything it mentions about my possible love life. I can’t help it, and I’m not ashamed of it either, even though some people say I should be.

I have a crazy sense of smell.

My mom always tells me the story of back in the day when I spent most of my time chilling in my buggy, about the day we went shopping in Cork, or Dublin not too sure which, and there was a lady near us who had quite an unappealing scent of B.O. off of her. Instead of being like every other child and not noticing it, I did, couldn’t handle it and refused to stop asking my mom “Vat’s tat smell?”. She couldn’t get me stop so she had to quickly roll me out of the shop. I’d like to say I’ve changed, but I haven’t because no matter where I am, who I’m with or what we’re doing, I will always be the first one to smell something odd and say it. Can’t teach an old dog new tricks eh?

I cannot blow balloons.

I don’t know whether it’s to do with my lungs, my technique or simply just my effort, but no matter how hard I’ve ever tried, I have never been able to blow up a balloon the old fashioned way. I’ve tried, and sometimes tried so hard that I’ve actually had to sit down afterwards due to dizziness. I genuinely just cannot blow a single balloon.

I want to learn the Banjo.

I’ve always been a massive Dixie Chicks fan, and as you know from previous posts that I am a big country music fan, so I’m sure this one isn’t much of a surprise to you. I used to play piano during the early years of Secondary School, but I hated how they taught it with an exam structure rather than a relaxed, fun one, so I only got to level three. However with the Banjo I would love to learn everything about it and just get lost in the world of the country folk.

Maybe you knew some of these things, maybe you knew all of them, but hey maybe you knew absolutely none of these and that I surprised you, even if it was just a little bit…

Ever-so Stylishly yours,

   Hannah .x.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

