$cr*w the Resolutions

“I don’t set out to be different, I just set out to be me.”
– Unknown

No matter where I went over the past few weeks, everyone seemed to complain about 2016, from Trump and Brexit to the many deaths of icons, 2016 seemed to be a year full of nothing but tragedy and sorrow. However outside of the media and in my personal life, I believe that 2016 was one of the most fulfilled years I’ve ever had which you’ve probably been well aware of if you are a regular reader of my blog, but it was simply because I had a little personal goal from the get go.
I was never one for “New Years Resolutions” but at the end of 2015 I met someone who gave me a new perspective to my outlook on life and showed me that without personal goals, it’s almost impossible to succeed. It took me a while to come around to that state of mind, but when I did I began to tick off more and more boxes than I ever did before. Whether it was an academic goal, a goal towards my career or a simple physical goal, they all resulted in my self-confidence being boosted on a regular basis because success is never really complete without a smile.

If you’ve gotten this far in the post you probably want to slap me in the face because I sound like I’m blowing my own trumpet, but don’t worry I’m not. I wanted my first post of 2017 to be one that would give you, the reader, a spark in your step, an extra push on the starting line and just something that might give you too a new perspective on so-called “resolutions”. How? I hear you ask, well it’s actually quite simple…Just get your sh*t together with a little POP.

  • People

They say “surround yourself with good people and good things will happen” and I honestly couldn’t preach it more. Everyone goes through their childhood being friends with some people only because they were seen as “cool” or “one of the popular kids”, but the longer you stay friends with those kind-of people the more their friendship starts to takes a toll on you, and y’know what? It’s ok to admit that, because every single one of us has been in this situation. Bad friendships are horrifically toxic. I’ve had a few of these in my lifetime and I’ll probably have a few more in the future, but for now my goal is to ensure that I surround myself with people that are nothing but good for me. Whether it’s because they push me to be the best version of myself, or if it’s because I can’t spend more than five minutes with them without smiling, or if it’s simply because they’re a “good egg”, but whatever it is and whoever you are, if I want to spend more than just an hour without, there’s a high chance I want you around for the long run. It’s not easy to push yourself away from people you’re not comfortable around, but it’s worth it in the long run if you can. I did a lot of that in 2016 (as you can see below) so I can only hope that 2017 will be even better!0.jpg

  • Organise

As a kid, I grew up alongside my sisters watching ‘Friends’ on a regular basis and, as there were three of us and three girls in Friends we always chose one who we think we would be more like when we grow up. I was always the Rachel, due to my love of fashion and my dream of one day moving to Paris, but I always had a dash of Phoebe in me because I was never considered the most normal of girls. However as I’ve gotten older I’ve noticed that I’m 90% Monica. I noticed this majorly in the past year or so because I’ve developed an obsession to have everything in an organised manner, from my wardrobe, to the apps in my phone (yes I have them categorised, don’t judge me) and I even have my own little day planner, which is something I’ve always wanted to have ever since watching ‘New York Minute’. However even though it sounds like a lot of work keeping the little things in life organised, having a simple thing such as a day planner allows you to take much more control of how you spend your time as it allows you to write down what’s happening that day, what you want to happen that day and simply who you will be spending that precious hour of lunch time with. Honestly, just take control of every minute of the day, because a whole year can fly by without you having achieved anything you truly wanted to. Honestly don’t be afraid of unleashing your inner Monica, or allowing post-its to become your best friend.1.jpg

  • Presentation

I wouldn’t consider myself a self-centred person, but when it comes to presenting myself to the world, I become incredibly image focused. I live by two quotes in life, one was once said by the iconic Gabrielle Chanel and the other is simply “dress everyday like you’re going to meet your worst enemy”. As I am back in college, I am yet again surrounded by hundreds of students wearing nothing but their comfiest tracksuits and it frustrates me even more than it did back in first year. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m all up for dressing comfortably but it wouldn’t exactly make you want to stand in front of your worst enemy and tell them what you really think of them. I always find that if I dress that little bit better everyday, I could take on the world just that little bit stronger, and confront more fears/people than I ever did before, which you should too. I’m not saying go to work tomorrow in your highest pair of heels, or go shopping in your sexiest dress, I’m simply just saying that wear what makes you look and feel good. Don’t just keep your best clothes for the weekend, because frankly who knows what could happen tomorrow.
0r.jpg

‘POP’ may be a simple theory of mine, but I think the simpler changes you make in your everyday life, the higher chance you’ll be able to achieve your everyday goals, on a more regular basis. Here’s to making 2017 an unforgettable one, and hopefully one full of a lot more blog posts than 2016 was!

Ever so stylishly yours,

  Hannah .x.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jason Kearney says:

    Hello, Well done on a good post and I agree about your presentation of self to others in the world. I think dressing tidily gives you some sense of self worth. It is rather like giving a presentation at college and having bad spelling or grammatical errors, you are already on a wrong footing. Finally about the media, it also gives people 99% worthless information as regards their day to day living. I recommend reading the books “The Dissapearance of Childhood” or “Amusing Ourselves to Death” by Neil Postman as they show how the media has encroached on peoples daily lives both children and adults.Well done on your journey so far and like the poem “The Road to Ithaca”- the journey is more important than the destination. Jason

    Like

Leave a Reply

