Party Harder (part two)

“Successful people are not gifted. They just work hard, then succeed on purpose.”
– G. K. Nielson

The past two years have been full of an immense amount of highs and a considerable handful of lows, so when 2016 was just around the corner I promised myself that  I would go all out and make it my year to shine. I hate saying it was my “new years resolution” because they never seem to stick whereas this little goal of mine has.
To be honest it all started when third year of my degree kicked in last September. I usually don’t head back to college until lectures begin but I was offered the position to become a Student Ambassador so I started a few days earlier by helping out WIT’s incoming first years. I’m usually cautious of the first impression that I make with new people but I forced myself to bite the bullet, forget about trying to make a good impression and just be myself. I’m not exactly your typical “WIT Girl” so I didn’t know who I’d end up working alongside for the day, but little did I know that was when I would meet a few people who would become my closest friends.

100_4661

Lectures hadn’t even begun a week and I was already getting itchy feet, so a few of us decided to get together and reignite the fire that was once blazing in WIT known as the ‘Business Society‘. It was once one of the biggest societies in the college but had disbanded in previous years due to bad management, so we were offered a completely blank slate to revamp the once-iconic society. We did exactly that. Yes there were many mishaps, as there are in every team, but overall we made ourselves a force not to be reckoned with. We organized a ‘Throwback’ themed launch party in the college bar in the first semester, brought back ‘WIT Business Day‘ with a bang and were the brains behind this years most anticipated WIT event of the year, the ‘Business Ball‘. Becoming apart of this years Business Society was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made because it introduced me to people I can see myself being friends with from years beyond now, it allowed to me to network with a huge variety of successful business people and it also gave me the chance to become much more successful me. I would encourage anyone starting college or in college right now, to join societies. Stop being so scared of change and meeting new people. Get out there and get yourself known!!!

bizsoc.png

I know I’m rambling a little but I promise I’ve got a point to make….
One of the main focuses of this college year was to end it by getting the perfect placement within your reach, so when the Christmas holidays kicked in my itchy feet struck strong again. When I started my course I was unsure of what area of Marketing I wanted to branch into but as soon as I started studying about Advertising I knew that it was the area for me. To be honest at the beginning I didn’t know whether it was the lecturer that I was inspired by or the modules, but overall I knew that a career in Advertising was one that I was craving. I applied for various different Advertising agencies across Ireland, I contacted a large amount of people already in the industry and overloaded myself with more Advertising knowledge, which eventually resulted in me getting offered my dream placement in Guns or Knives, the sister of one of Ireland’s leading Advertising agencies. As soon as I walked into their office for my interview I knew it was somewhere I wanted to work, but after the interview I was unsure of whether I’d be lucky enough to become apart of their team. Little did I know that my “enthusiasm and drive was immediately clear to them”, so within 48hrs the internship was offered to me and in just two weeks I’ll be starting my dream placement there. One step closer to my dream of becoming the next Don Draper, eh?

It may have only happened back in February but you’d be surprised how much can happen in the space of three months. Only a few weeks ago I received an e-mail from my Advertising lecturer informing me that she’d like to nominate me for AIB Student of the Year for WIT’s School of Business, but little did I know that few days later I would be actually chosen for it. It is an award that never even crossed my mind and something that I definitely never thought I’d be in with the chance to actually attain the title, but it just shows that the little things you do definitely don’t go unnoticed.

HANNAH HEWETSON 1.jpg
Which leads me on to talking about #HoleInTheBoat. At the start of the semester one of the assignments that we were given was to create our first live campaign for the local insurance brokers, Hooper Dolan. The brief was to create a digital campaign for the company, but us being us we wanted to think a little outside of the box. So we took the chance and created a crazy idea that consisted of an ambient bubble-wrap campaign alongside a pitch that was full of nothing but eighties puns. We spent months working on it, genuinely up until a few hours beforehand, but little did we know that we were the ones Hooper Dolan wanted. It was one of those experiences that I don’t think I’ll be able to forget anytime soon because it really was our first step on the big career ladder.

c

I know it sounds like I might be blowing my own trumpet a little, but my point is that if you love something don’t let anyone tell you to go do something else. Yes I was once on a different career path, but ever since I’ve stepped on the Marketing ladder I’ve never once gotten bored, never gotten itchy feet for a complete change, and certainly never stopped adoring what I do. As Steve Jobs once said “The only way to do great work is to love what you do” and I know for a fact that I wouldn’t have been able to achieve everything I did this year if I didn’t adore what I do.

Stylishly yours,

   Hannah.x.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Congratulations on the internship and the business student of the year award, well deserved!

    Like

    1. Aww thanks a million Valerie! Still all a bit surreal, but certainly haven’t been able to stop smiling since!

      Like

  2. Fiona Whelan-Ryan says:

    Bravo Hannah! Well done – love your honesty, energy, integrity and enthusiasm in all you do which is so evident from your blogs! Best wishes to you!

    Like

    1. Aw thank you so much Fiona! You are really too kind, and I’m glad you find my posts as genuine as I hope them to be!

      Like

Leave a Reply

