Be the Black Sheep

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

If any of you follow my everyday duties on Snapchat or are an eager follower of my Instagram account, then you’ll know that I haven’t been in the country for the past month and before that I was knee-deep in studying, so I haven’t exactly been the greatest at keeping my blog regularly updated. I do apologize to all you regular readers, but hopefully I’ll be able to make it up-to you this year.


Trends are constantly changing, fashion is evolving every day, but style will always be something that will never change in a person. Anyone can be fashionable, anyone can attain new on-trend clothes, but for some reason the amount of people that are genuinely stylish seem to be decreasing in numbers on a daily basis. When I was younger I was taught that being different was good and that in order to succeed you have to make yourself stand out from the rest, but for some reason girls today don’t seem to take that path.
Whether it’s running through the halls of college, getting caught in the midst of the dance floor on a night out, or simply strolling through a high-street store, there is not a minute that goes by where I don’t see a group of girls that dress identical to each other. I cannot comprehend why though. When I was younger I was always taught that dressing a little different than those around you, was a good thing, and that standing out is never something you should be afraid of, but for some reason this seems to be a thing of the past amongst today’s society. It almost reminds me of how Mean Girls began, because Regina George made sure everyone dressed just like her. However the film ends with each girl ending up finding themselves, doing their own thing, and embracing their differences, but for some reason a large majority of girls today seem to have forgotten the fun in that and have just become sheep.


Every time the new year rolls around people spend days rambling on about their New Year Resolutions, and I can’t deny that I don’t have personal resolutions for 2016, but one thing I would love to happen this year would be for girls to embrace their unique qualities. Now I know that a lot of it is to do with lack of confidence, courage and the mindset that something doesn’t suit them, but in my opinion You can’t knock it, until you’ve tried it. So be brave and ditch that deep-v halterneck top, chuck that spaghetti-strap bodycon jersey dress, throw out those overly-chunky unattractive heels, and for crying out loud stop wearing check shirts with skinny jeans and vans on a daily basis.
Go out and be different, chance that new dress you’ve always wanted to wear, buy that outfit that you constantly compliment when other girls wear it, wear your hair a little different than normal, experiment with your clothes, be adventurous, and be the black sheep amongst the off-white flock. If you don’t make yourself stand out from the crowd, how are you going to make an unforgettable first impression and be remembered after you leave the room? As Chanel once said…

Stylishly yours,

Hannah.x.

Leave a Reply

