That’s a whole lotta’ cool…

If you haven’t heard of Culottes yet, or haven’t seen a pair, then  you have to be living under a rock. These are the pants that are on almost every rail in every high street clothing shop at the moment, usually in the basic colours of black or navy. There’s also always a woman standing near them, holding a pair in her hands with an awfully confused look on her face because she’s unsure on whether they’re a pair of pants or a midi skirt. It’s almost like the ‘Skort’ trend all over again because some people just can’t seem to get their head around the idea of an item of clothing looking like one thing, but actually being something else. I don’t own a pair of these just yet because I’m still a little cautious of them. It’s not that I don’t like them, it’s more that I’m not the tallest of girls so since I don’t suit midi-skirts in general I’ve a feeling that Culottes mightn’t be the most flattering outfit choice for me. Then again I’ve a feeling that most of the women that I’ve seen wearing them have been pretty average in height, which isn’t exactly considered tall.

They actually used to be worn by upper-class, high society men during Renaissance, and was then worn by women during Victorian times. They became a huge fashion trend at the time as it allowed women to properly ride horses, as before they were restricted to only riding side-saddle. Who knew that an item of clothing that was once seen as genuinely useful, would now be a fashionable piece and a trend that many girls should have in their wardrobe this upcoming season?
Even though they seem to only come in plain, neutral, classic colours, I have to say that I have a bit of a soft spot for the patterned versions of culottes. They don’t seem to be around just yet, but I’m hoping that once the sunshine starts to fill our days that pattern culottes will be the choice of pants by all the stylish women around.

If you’re an avid reader of my blog you’ll know that I have a massive weakness for one-pieces whether their jumpsuits, playsuits or swimsuits, so when I found out that culotte jumpsuits actually existed (thanks to my sister and her purchasing) I was very intrigued. The more I looked into them, the more I liked them because it made them seem a lot more wearable and easier to accessorize because it’s all one-piece rather than having to go look for a top for the original pants version of them. Then again, I’m biased…

I know this trend mightn’t be liked by a large handful of women, but as I always say, you can’t make an honest opinion unless you try it for yourself.

Stylishly yours,

Hannah .x.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve got my eyes on a cute pair of culottes that will probably make it into my closet😊 excited for the trend http://www.sunlightstorage.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. hannahheww says:

      Ooh really? They always look gorgeous when I see them on other women so I’ve a feeling I’ll be tempted to make a purchase…x.

      Like

  2. Really digging the culotte jumpsuits. So fashionable and perfect for the spring! I really like how you broke down the history of culottes. Excellent post!

    Check out our blog:
    http://www.hisandhersdailygrind.wordpress.com
    for fashion posts and advice for both men and women!

    Thanks,

    -R&J

    Like

Leave a Reply

