R-E-S-P-E-C-T

The iconic Marilyn Monroe once said that “Your clothes should be tight enough to show you’re a woman but loose enough to show you’re a lady.”  Which is a statement that I thought many women would understand compleltly and embrace it as a wardrobe motto, but recently I’ve noticed that this doesn’t seem to be the case.
As I am currently a college student, I like to try embrace the college social life when I can by going out on an almost-regular basis. I’ve always been a girl that loves going out and going to parties but not for the reasons that you may think. I’ve never been seen as a typical party girl, I don’t go out to get drunk, I never went out with the aim to go home with some random guy, but there is one thing that I absolutely adore about going out and that’s getting all dressed up. As you all know (well you should know by now) when it comes to fashion I can’t help but go weak at the knees, whether it’s going shopping, making a simple purchase of a new pair of a shoes, aimlessly roaming through crowds of stylish people, or just getting all dressed up for a night out with the girls. Just because I’m in college doesn’t mean I’ve to morph into the typical college girl and change the way I am by having a different aim for my nights out. However many other girls haven”t taken the same path as me and given into the peer pressure of the typical student lifestyle/persona.
Now before I say anymore I have to say that anything I say in this post isn’t aimed at anybody in particular, it’s just an opinion and shouldn’t be taken offensively. But I can’t hold back from writing about it much longer. Recently (the past few months that is) I’ve noticed that an incredibly large majority of girls don’t seem to know the fine line between sexily-revealing and down right slutty when they experience the student night life. I thought that it was just me thinking this, and noticing this but when I’ve said it aloud most of my friends have agreed with me when I say that young girls (around the same age as myself) nowadays seem to have no respect for their own bodies.
In my opinion, I blame this on TV Shows like ‘Geordie Shore‘, ‘The Only Way Is Essex’ and every other reality TV show that revolves around drunken, tacky socialites. I know it’s harsh but the camera shows them constantly dressing in clothes that are either too tight, too short, show too much skin, or just downright atrocious. I’m not saying anything about the girls or their lifestyle because everybody’s different, but I personally think their style is having a terrible effect on the fashion stakes when it comes to nightclubs, bars or even just typical house parties. It genuinely kills me.

Whether it’s a neckline that doesn’t seem to fit their boobs correctly, shorts that only cover half of their bum cheeks, a jumpsuit that hugs every curve in their body, or when they wear odd underwear under a lace top, whatever they seem to wear it just turns out awful. It amazes me really. I didn’t think it was too bad until I saw the so-called “celebrities”  walk the red carpet at this year National Television Awards, and was compleltly and utterly speechless at how low some of their standards seemed.

I know that you might think I’m overreacting but I just can’t help but think it. Maybe it originated from my new found addiction to ‘Mad Men‘ and seeing the men back in the 1950’s fall head over heels for women that dressed in perfectly fitted figure hugging, hardly-revealing, non-cutout dresses, and that they looked incredible. Even when we look at the iconic, historic women that shape fashion today like Jackie O’Nasis or Audrey Hepburn, or modern day style icons such as Victoria Beckham or Jennifer Lawrence and see that not one of them dressed in a trashy, tacky manner. They may have worn clothes that could’ve crossed the line, but they always seem to never be able to look slutty or tacky.

Now I know everybody has their unique sense of style, and every girl has their own fashion influence(r)s, but just please take into consideration how people see you because looking like a cast member from Geordie Shore is not someone that you want to be seem as. Just remember what Rachel Zoe once said “Style is a way of saying who you are without having to speak”, and do you really want someone to think you’re saying “I’m trashy. Slutty. Tacky. Can’t find clothes to fit me. I’ve got boobs so I’m going to shove them in your face.” You’re probably calling me an absolute b*%#h right now, but I’m just saying it as I see it, and trust me I see a lot on nights out…too much…

Stylishly yours,

 Hannah .x.

Leave a Reply

