New Year, New Beginnings

The year of 2014 was certainly one full of memories that I’ll never want to forgot. Obviously every year has it’s ups and downs, but even though the past year has had a few drastic downs, the many many ups overrule them every single time. Fashion is pretty much the exact same, because even though there were so some dreadful trends that flooded the high street rails there was certainly many ‘diamonds in the rough’ style trends that’ll hopefully be carried onto 2015. One of them I recently just purchased in the boohoo sale and have been eagerly waiting for it to arrive for the past few days…Tulle Skirts!
Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve loved skirts/dresses with full, “poofy” skirts. Whether they were the main fabric of the skirt, or used to make a skirt look fuller from underneath, I just think that that they’re such a statement piece regardless fo what they’re worn with. Now that they’re a big trend and becoming even bigger, I can’t help but drool over all the street style photographs that are flooding instagram of girls wearing their tulle/chiffon skirts in their own bold, quirky way.

Tutu Terrific
Due to me not being the tallest of girls, I’ve found it incredibly hard to pull off the tea-length style skirts so knowing that there are tutu lengths widely available (mini tulle skirts) It made me beyond happy. I actually bought a simple black version off of Boohoo.com in their sale only the other day for just €8, and I cannot wait for it to arrive.

Kickass Knees
This style is probably the most common length available when it comes to tulle skirts. Whether they’re just above the knee. or just below it, once it’s tulle and skimming your knees, you can consider yourself a girl worth being snapped by a street style photographer (and yes that is a dream of mine…) By this summer I hope to find myself the perfect version of this style skirt.

Time for Tea
I can guarantee that if you’re an addict to keeping upto date famous bloggers of the fashion world (like littlt ‘aul me) you won’t be able to go a week without your Facebook or Instagram feed having an #outfitoftheday post containing a tea-length tulle skirt. However, for some reason, it’s actually an awfully hard item of clothing to come across on the high street but I’m crossing my fingers that it’ll be a massive trend for the upcoming first few months of 2015.

Take it to the Max
Maxi tulle skirts are definitely the hardest way to wear tulle, unless it’s for a red carpet event or a wedding, because otherwise it’s awfully difficult to pull off without looking out of place. I know that many various stylish stars have pulled this look off effortlessly but because they’re constantly visiting cities that are creatively open minded, like New York, Paris or Milan, then they have the opportunity to wear whatever they want without having to worry what anyone else says or thinks. Therefore full length tulle skirts could be worn without doubt. Then again, if you’ve got the guts to wear one I salute you.

One thing I love about this trend is that it can take you from day to night very easily. You can dress it up with a crop top, a sequin top, a plain cami and blazer combo, or you can make it casual by wearing a plain tee, a chunky knit jumper, a high collared shirt, to be honest you can wear them with absolutely anything once you have the right accessories and an injection of happy confidence. It’s a new year, so be bold, be brave and don’t be afraid to take a chance, as style is all about making an outfit your own.

Happy New Year girlies, I hope it’ll be a good one for you!

Stylishly yours,

  Hannah.x.

Leave a Reply

