Bare Necessities

When it comes to changing seasons, my wardrobe goes through a stage where I end up looking like a lost child. I don’t know what it is, but I can never seem to let go of summer when it ends. If there’s even a glimpse of sunshine, I won’t be one bit afraid to wear a sleeveless shirt with a pair of denim shorts and tights. Even though it’s already halfway through October, I’m still in that exact phase and I just can’t help it. When I was a child I used to always hate the days when my summer wardrobe would get tucked to the back of the wardrobe so my jumpers and baggy jeans could have their moment in the spotlight and to this day I’m still the exact same. As we speak, I’m wearing a black 3/4 length sleeved top tucked into a pair of tartan denim shorts with coordinating red tights, my black heeled ankle boots and a simple beaded necklace in the same shade of red. Even though the colours scream winter, the combination of shorts and tights seem to be a summer-only trend (well according to all the weird looks from my fellow college students anyways). So I decided to this weeks post on this seasons must haves, hoping that it’ll force my mind into being more winter-orientated.

Plaid Perfection
Whether you’ve just scrolled through the pages of ASOS, rummaged through the rails of Primark, or briskly walked past the window of River Island, I can guarantee that you’ve seen Tartan at-least once in your travels. It’s one of those patterns that seems to come back around every second autumn/winter because the fashion industry can’t seem to resist it, and frankly, either can I. Ever since I was a little chatterbox of a child I’ve loved the plaid pattern, whether it’s stretched onto a pair of tights, printed onto denim shorts or used to create a mini skirt, I’ve never been able to ignore a piece of clothing that’s Tartan. I don’t know why, but I think deep down it’s because I’ve always been such a goody-two-shoes so I found that when I wore something Tartan, I was able to pretend I had an actual rebellious streak. So when I saw that this print was coming back this A/W I was insanely excited and bought it in nearly every style possible from shorts to cigarette pants, blazers to cocoon coats, and from chunky scarves to the old reliable, nylon tights. IF you don’t own an item of Tartan clothing this season, then you’ll stand out like a sore thumb everywhere you go.
Faux Furbulous
This is probably one of the most daunting trends for me this season but, as I mentioned in a previous post, it’s an absolutely huge trend this season and we can’t seem to avoid it. Now I must admit there are various ways to embrace this trend with open arms, without looking like ‘Kat Slater’ from EastEnders, and many women have done it successfully. You could invest in a full fur coat, or you could follow the seventies style by chancing a fur gilet, but if you’re like me and not brave enough, you can always wrap yourself up in a cosy fur scarf or a fur lined jacket. It may seem like a hard trend to pull off, but it’s certainly not one you should be afraid of.
Baggy Pastels
This is one wintery item that I cannot wait to get my hands on because it’s a piece of clothing made for the cooler months, but in colours that scream sunshine and ice-cream. Everytime I see a girl wearing pastel I can’t help double-take and admire her outfit colours. I love the idea of wearing cosy clothing, in a colour that easily brightens up a dull, rainy day. So when I began to see oversized wool coats in these shades in every high street shop, I began to genuinely look forward to seeing everyone embracing their winter wardrobe, without looking dark, and gloomy.
Mad Hatters
I always had a weakness for felt hats when it came to winter, but sadly no matter how many I tried on I was never able to find one to suit me. But for some reason, ever since I had the jaw realignment surgery (five weeks ago this week in fact!), they’ve started suiting me. I know it sounds crazy, but it’s true, and now I’m addicted to them. Every time I set foot inside a clothing shop, I can’t stop myself from going over to the hat section and trying on all the different styles. Since felt hats are such a huge trend this season, I couldn’t be happier. Think back to the Gossip Girl days of Serena Van Der Woodsen and Jenny Humphrey, with their messy hair and enviable felt hats, and follow right in their footsteps. From bowlers to fedoras to wide-brimmed hats, if they’re felt and can be pulled down over your messy locks, then you should have more than one of them in your drawer.
I hope that you girls found this post useful in regards to finding the key pieces for this years Autumn/Winter wardrobe, because I know for some people (like moi) getting into winter clothes can be pretty damn hard. If you want any more advice or help on your wardrobe for the chilly season ahead, don’t be afraid to drop me an e-mail or message me on Facebook.

Stylishly yours,

   Hannah.x.
Leave a Reply

