Reality Bites

Day fifteen, in the big brother house, and Hannah is itching to get back into the real world. You probably just read that line and asked yourself “What the hell is this girl on about?” and don’t worry, I’ll tell you it all…
When I was at the tender age of twelve, I was told that I needed to get braces. It was one thing that I always knew that I’d need because my teeth were in a pretty drastic state. I had them for two years, retainers for another two years and everything was fine, until I got into fifth year and just wasn’t happy with my smile. I just felt that after going through braces, and having everything with them from elastics, to blocks, to double wires, (you name it, I had it!), I said to myself that I wanted a perfect smile. Now I know that there’s no such thing as perfect, but when you’re a girl that smiles the whole time and doesn’t actually like her own smile, the idea of doing something about fixing the wonkyness of it sounded perfect to me. Sooo in the middle of sixth year I had to go back to the start and get braces on my teeth all over again.

parisme
This was the photo that made me say YES to having the operation…

However things were different this time as my teeth needed more than “a bit of metal” , I was told that if I wanted to get a straight smile I would have to undergo ‘Jaw Realignment Surgery’. When my orthodontist first told me, I should’ve been terrified, scared, annoyed, but I couldn’t help but say YES straight away. I’ve had so much done with my teeth, that I wanted it all to be worth it by the time I hit 20, not to be still annoyed by photos of me smiling the wrong way or laughing.
Now, here I am, a year later, and fifteen days after the surgery and still in shock. Two of my friends had the procedure done, and they couldn’t be happier wit the results, but nobody really told me how hard the recovery would really be. Yeah, they told me I wouldn’t be able to eat for a while, that it’d take a few weeks to get full feeling back in my face, and everything like that, but when it’s actually happening, it’s ten times worse.
For a girl that loves her food, loves smiling, loves being active and going out…being cooped up and unable to eat properly isn’t fun. BUT there only minor things that I’ll get back in a few months, without a problem…

parisme
Being cooped up inside and not being able to eat properly, makes me feel like this…

Now in all honesty it’s not as bad as I’m making it out to be, it’s more that I have absolutely no patience and I just wish I could recover and get back to normal after a week. Having no patience runs in the family, and there’s not one thing I can do about it.
Yeah I ‘ll get there and I’ll be back bouncing around and smiling like crazy in a few weeks, and as much as I whine stupidly about it, atleast I’ll get better. There’s people out there that will never recover from an accident, an operation, an illness, whereas I will. I’m giving out now, but that’s just me being an idiot. I’m one of the lucky ones.

parisme
I really hope that all this will be worth it in the end, and that I’ll finally love my smile in person and in photographs, but I guess we won’t know until I’m fully recovered and no braces. So if you’ve got perfectly straight teeth, embrace every second of smiling because you don’t know how insanely lucky you are. However, I can’t help but thank whoever’s watching over me because I know I’ll come out of all this smiling no matter what.
If someone asked me for advice about the operation, I’d be honest and say that recovery is pretty hard and there are moments where you regret it a crazy amount, but I’ve a feeling that if somebody asks me the same question in a few months, I’ll tell them to go for it. Recovery and the operation are only temporary, whereas your smile/face is permanent for the rest of your life…
Stylishly yours,

Hannah.x.

Leave a Reply

