That Seventies Show

I can’t believe it’s been nearly a month since I last posted, but I didn’t exactly get much of a chance to sit down, perch my laptop on my lap and type away. These past few weeks have been crazy busy between my sister Laura and her boyfriend coming home all the way from New Zealand for a week, my boyfriends pretty damn fun 21st, our two week family holiday in Croatia, then when I came back I had to go under anesthetic for a four hour Jaw-realignment surgery, and now I’m in recovery mode. Now I’m not complaining because even though it was a crazy few weeks, I made plenty unforgettable memories during that time, whether it be attempting to slow dance (I’m an absolute clutz) along to Arctic Monkeys “R U Mine” with my boyfriend at his 21st party, or it be the days my family and I spent pushing each other into the water on holidays, or whether it be getting the operation done that I’ve been wanting for the past year and a half, everything has been mental but I wouldn’t change most of it, if I could. Yeah there’s been tough times, and the recovery side of the operation is far from pretty, but sometimes you have to be shown tough times so you can really appreciate the good times.
ANYWAYS, enough about me, myself and I, and back to the reason I started a blog in the first place. Fashion. This upcoming season has various trends, but there’s one trend that you can’t escape from: The Seventies. This was certainly an iconic time in history, and even more significant in fashion history thanks to films like Grease, musicians like Abba, and of course well-known models like Jerry Hall and Iman. There are various trends that burst onto the scenes all those years ago, and a large majority of them are coming back this upcoming, chilly season.

Thigh’s the limit
Everytime over-the-knee boots become an on-trend accessory, I can’t help but get flashbacks of the ones Julia Roberts wore in the iconic movie ‘Pretty Woman‘. You might call these type of boots “hooker boots”, but I can promise you that they’re far from it. Yes it may be a daunting idea to wear boots that come upto your mid-thigh, but if worn correctly, they can make you look very high fashion in the blink of an eye. Keeping with the seventies theme, if you invest in a burgundy pair of these boots, co-ordinate them with a floppy hat, and just wear a simple pair of skin tight jeans and a plain t-shirt, you’ll make everyone envious of your wardrobe.


Fabulously Floppy
Every time winter comes around I can’t help but envy every woman that is able to pull off hats. Whether it’s a thick knit beanie, a tweed trilby, a felt bowler hat, or this seasons wide-brimmed felt hats, I can never seem to be able to pull them off. However I am hoping that when I’m fully recovered, my new face/jawline might work in my favour towards hats. A girl can hope, right?
There are so many famous faces that love this look, from the IT girl of 2014 Blake Lively, to one of my upcoming favourite models Suki Waterhouse, and of course the ever-so-stylish Sienna Miller, so why don’t you brave the trend and keep your hair from going crazy in the wind by throwing on a wide-brimmed felt hat to inject a little seventies into your outfit.

Wide leg wonder
Sadly this is one trend that I can’t personally embrace because I honestly don’t have the confidence to pull them off. I’ve seen various fashion bloggers and street style stars pull them off effortlessly, but I just can’t bring myself to pull them off. I have it in my head that I’m too small to make them work, but I can guarantee that If I try on a pair, they’ll look just as good on me as a pair of skinny jeans. BUT I still won’t have the confidence for them. However, don’t let my lack of confidence set you back, because trust me they look stunning on almost every shape, size and height. Whether you brave a patterned pair like well-known Irish blogger Ciara O’Doherty, or a simple denim pair like Eva Mendes, or a bold coloured pair like the iconic SJP, once you wear them with a simple top, and your own style accessories, I can’t see how you won’t make them work.

Fantastic Floral 
When it comes to my wardrobe there’ll never be a day where it won’t have atleast one floral piece, and this upcoming autumn/winter season will be no different. Normally floral is kept to the sunshine filled summer months, but not this year. Whether it’s floral embroidered onto jackets, floral lace dresses, or the floral high-collared shirts that scream seventies, this blossoming trend is certainly not a thing of the past. I always love how a bold floral shirt looks when paired with a pair of tweed shorts, thick nylon tights, chunky heeled ankle boots and a thick knit scarf. I always think that floral and tweed in coordinating colours, never fails to look cosy and cute. Then again, I do love my floral shirts along with the trusty shorts & tights combo, so putting them together wouldn’t be something I’d complain about.

Freezing, or Fur?
One “fabric” that you need in your wardrobe this summer is fur. It may not be practical when the rain hits, but boy does it keep you warm when the wind and cold air hits. When I was younger I used to have this puffy cream jacket, with a fur hood that always kept me as snug as a bug (sometimes it actually kept me toooo warm!) and ever since I’ve always had a soft spot for fur jackets. Yes they ccan be scary to wear, but you can go simple like a fur gilet, or you can go bold with a leopard print full coat, but whatever you do, just make sure you get one for the cold winter months ahead. I can guarantee that once you wear it, you’ll never want to take the snug-bug off of you.



Seventies by heart
If you’re still unsure of how to go about embracing the seventies theme, why not take a look at the one girl that has a whole wardrobe full of clothes inspired by this era. She’s a fashion icon in her own right, with the voice of an angel, a personality that you can’t help but fall in love with, and a hair colour that’s hopelessly irresistible. Okay, okay so maaaaaaybe I’m rambling on a bit too much about her, but she is one of my ultimate girl crushes and style icons. Yeah, you’ve guessed it, Ms Florence Welch. I’ve mentioned her various times before on my blog and on the blogs facebook page, which means you probably already know how much I adore her. So when I saw that this seasons fashion has time traveled back to the 1970’s, I couldn’t resist the chance to show off her gorgeous style yet again. If you can’t get inspiration from her, then I’m afraid you’ll miss out on the big trends this season.

Now go forth and relive the seventies with your fashion this season, because if I can do it, then there’s no reason for you not to! If you have any questions or want any advice on this or any other upcoming trends this season, don’t be afraid to drop me an e-mail or a message on Facebook, Tumblr, or even my new site (which I had to make for college) WordPress. I’d be more than happy to help you. fabulously fashionable, ladies and gents out.

Stylishly yours,

   Hannah.x.

Leave a Reply

