Winter Envy

I may not be the biggest fan of the winter season, but there’s no denying how much I love Christmas. Nothing beats the feeling of everyone waking up early, with big smiles on their faces and wanting to do nothing but run down the stairs to find out what Santie brought you. Lets just say, this year (well every year) Santie was incredibly good and I’m awfully grateful for it. I just can’t believe the day is over already, it always goes so fast. Now the next big thing is New Years Eve, well the big thing is what am I going to wear on New Years Eve?

Every time I’ve been shopping this season, I’ve always become obsessed with something new. Whether it’s make-up, clothes or accessories, I happen to fall in love quite easily. However no matter how many trends and pieces that cover the rails and shelves, there’s only six trends that I absolutely love this season. Thanks to celebrities and street ‘stylers’, I’m not the only one that loves these trends.


Jumpsuits

In my opinion, any girl that can pull off a fitted, full jumpsuit (the short ones are known as playsuits, just in-case you were getting confused!), looks pretty damn sexy. I used to always think that jumpsuits only suited slim, tall girls, but the more I see them the more I want to chance one for myself. As my friends know (and are probably sick of by now), I’ve been in search of a nice, fitted pants, black jumpsuit for the past few weeks. Yet no matter how many sites I analyse, or how many rails I rummage through, I cannot seem to find a nice, affordable one anywhere. If only I could borrow Miley Cyrus’ gorgeous bow-back one, or Ashley Madekwes perfect, navy fitted bodice one. Then again, I wouldn’t mind having the ability to pull of Vanessa Hudgens chiffon Jenny Packham one.

If you liked it then you should’ve put a ring on it!

I’m actually obsessed with rings this season. Actually, what am I saying, this is probably only just the start of a life long addiction to wearing rings. Gold rings especially. A few weeks ago I came across midi-rings in River Island and ever since, I’ve been completely and utterly obsessed with them. I don’t know why because I was never a girl that wore rings, but there’s just something I love about the look of a girls hand crowded with various types of simple rings. I now just need to find nice gold thumb rings to add to my collection. If Vanessa Hudgens, Rihanna and even the ever so smiley, Kirsten Stewart, can pull of the trend, then why can’t I chance it? However the nail rings are one trend that I hope never catches on.

Embedded image permalink

Dungarees

Oh yeah girls, remember these babies from when we were only kids? Well thanks to famous British girls like Alexa Chung, Millie Mackintosh and Fearne Cotton, the trend has been brought back to life. I have to admit that when I was a kid, I wasn’t very fond of this look, however ever since my mom bought me a short pair from Pennys for only €7 I can’t help but love them. They’re incredibly comfy, and look awesome with bold tights, high collared shirt and my floral, denim doc martens. I may not have full length ones, but the seasons not over just yet!

Kiss me hard before you go

I think nothing finishes off a party outfit like dark, bold lipstick. There is just something very attractive and mysterious about girl that is all dressed up and has statement lips. Thanks to my pale complexion and natural redheaded genes, dark lips is one thing that I can play around with. However due to my braces it’s hard for me to do it at the moment, but I think I might just brave it and take the chance. All I need is a little confidence and smoulder (Flynn Ryder smoulder, that is.)
Yes I know there are various shades and colours that dark lipstick come in, but there is one colour in particular that I just adore. Dark purple lipstick (or MAC Cyber in particular!) I don’t know why I like it so much, but I think if it looks good on Amanda Seyfried, Kat Graham or newbie Lorde, why can’t we make it look good on us?

Tartan

It may have been a pattern that was only once found in the Highlands of Scotland, or in the wardrobe of Bay City Roller fans. However times have changed thanks to the introduction of this bold fabric on the runways of designers like Mulberry, Givenchy and YSL S/S shows. Tartan is one pattern that I’ve always loved, whether it’s on high waisted shorts, fitted blazers or stretched out on nylon tights. There’s just something about it that makes me feel bold, quirky and even a little bit flirty, when I wear it. I always think it looks awesome when you pair simple black shorts & tights or skinny jeans, with a black top, bold red tartan blazer, then top it off with a statement black and red necklace and matte red lips. Why not bring out the cheeky rebellious side of you for New Years?

I know that not all of these trends will be loved and embraced by everyone, but hey every girl is different. I just hope that the New Year will be one full of great changes, new possibilities and full of taking chances, whether it’s with your wardrobe, your work or even your social life. Just don’t let anyone tell you that something is impossible, because everything is possible.
Hopefully 2014 will be your lucky year, so make it a good one.

Stylishly yours,
   
    Hannah.x. 

Leave a Reply

