LFW S/S 2013

London Fashion Week is just over, and boy am I jealous of everyone who was there, someday I’ll get there, someday. London really was the place to be this year, between the Olympics, Paralympics, huge Concerts in the O2 every ten minutes, and of course the amazing London Fashion Week. It was full of many surprising trends for next years spring/summer, (well it was surprising to me anyways!) However many may not be interested in people blabbing on and on about Designers they don’t know, Models they don’t care about and celebrities they don’t even know exist. SO tonight, I said I’d make it more non-fashion-living-people friendly. I’ll try break down next years S/S trends as best I can, so you can be ahead of the crowd, without even knowing any “unnecessary” information (be warned though, I’m lethal for dropping names, sorry!)
Well first, I’ll start off with the more wearable ones, and less daring ones…

Relive your past…
I guess everyone now has the opportunity to release their past self, according to many designers for this season. It was actually one of my favourite trends, because I always wished to have been a sixties mod, or a seventies rebel teen, or a fifties housewife, and I guess now (if I have the guts!) I can. They obviously took their inspiration from certain eras, so you choose your favourite era and be inspired by it, you can’t be judged if it’s a trend eh?

Sixties/Seventies
( L-R: 
Holly Fulton, Moschino C&C, Sass & Bide)

Eighties
( L-R: Acne, Ashish.)

Fifties
( L-R: Temperley London, Vivienne Westwood Red Label, Emilia Wickstead.)

Foreign Brights
Okay, so what colours come straight to your mind when you think of Summer? Well in my opinion, I always think of the ones that are just beautifully vibrant, bright and scream summer. The constant use of turquoises, oranges, fuchsia pinks and splashes of red, work with nearly every skin tone, and no matter what age or size you are, one of these colours should always work. The flow of chiffon, the Bollywood-style blazers, the japanese influence prints, everything, it’s just summer all over.

( L-R: Peter Pilotto, Matthew Williamson x2, Julien MacDonald, Willow, Roksanda Ilincic. )

Crisp White
White was a huge trend this season, especially structured white, unusual neckline dresses. Personally, it’s a colour I always steer clear of because it’s all about confidence, tanned complexion, and having the ability to steer clear of liquids. However, me being a red-headed Irish girl, white never works with my skin. Also, I like chocolate too much, and I could guarantee that if I wore white, it’d end up with plenty of stains by the end of the night.

(L-R: David Koma, Temperly London, Topshop Unique.)

Tinfoil Tailoring.
Yep, it’s exactly what you’re thinking. Metallics. It’s one trend that many people are going to be petrified to embrace, however it’s actually pretty easy if you want to give to give it a go. Christopher Bailey was the main culprit of bringing this trend to our attention, as the Burberry S/S collection was flooded with it. However he gave it a twist, and mixed his classic trench, with the trend, and boy did it look good.

(L-R: Burberry, Simone Rocha, Fashion East.)

“Ballgowns” with a difference.
Well this may not be a trend, but I think it deserves a part in this blog. “Ballgowns”. The one item of clothing that make any girl feel beautiful, sexy, like-a-princess & a runaway, all at the same time. However with designers, the dresses are never simple they always have to be stunning, beautiful fabric, shaped to make a girls waist look as tiny as possible & just overall, princess-like. However these, are a teenie bit different. I think I’ll let the dresses speak for themselves.

(L-R: Giles, John Rocha, Felder Felder, Fashion East.

I know it was only a few trends, but I said I’d give you a quick lowdown on what were the trends at LFW, just so you can be prepared for the wacky trends that will be hitting our shops next spring/summer. Maybe someday I’ll be able to go and give you a review of the actual shows. However I don’t think I’d ever be front-row material. Maybe Harry Styles might put in a good word for me and save me spot at Burberry’s front row next year….

Well that’s my queue to go (and call up Harry Styles, as you do…OR spam his twitter!)

Lots of Love,

  Hannah .x.

Leave a Reply

